Classing is a feature that enables you to overview the students enrolled in courses within a chosen period. You can then move students between classes once you can see student numbers, levels, nationalities etc.,
Typically, a school might use Classing at the end of one week, when they know student numbers, to organise classes, timetables and teachers for the following week.
To get to Classing go to Course Admin – Classing. This is what you will see:
First, fill in the dates and choose the location you want to see student numbers for. After you click Calculate you will get a breakdown of numbers, nationalities etc., This information on students and courses will be used in the other tabs that can be seen. Below is an explanation of what they do:
The purpose of this card is to give you an overview of your students between the selected dates and make changes to the Classes they are enrolled in.
There are 3 sections to this page.
The top section shows you all your students enrolled in courses in the chosen period – students may be mentioned twice as they can be in more than one course.
The middle section shows you all the Classes you have active in the selected period. If you click on a Class the students enrolled in that Class will be coloured in in grey in the top section
The bottom part summarises the students who are enrolled in the chosen Class in the middle section
Here is a short video showing how to use Manual Classing;
The purpose of this card is to give you an overview of your students between the selected dates and make changes to the Classes they are enrolled in. The idea is similar to what we saw in Manual Classing above but we have the chance to see all the Classes at one time and to drag and drop students from one Class to another. You can also create extra classes if you have too many students in one.
There are 3 main areas:
The Classes area, this shows the Classses that you have and the number of students in each. If you click on a Class it will show you the students in the Class and if you click on Show All Classes all classes will open up and reveal the students enrolled. If you have too many students in a Class and you want to open another one all you need to do is right click on the Class.
The Selected Student area, if you want to move a student from one Class to another, clicking on the student will put their name in here. If they are in this area then you can drag them from the Class they are in and place them in another. When they have been moved their name will be removed from the Selected Student area.
The Unassigned Student Area,this holds all students who are not connected to any particular Class. This can be because they were disassociated from a Class they were linked to by clicking Delete against their name in Manual Classing or secondly the student is enrolled in a Class that
Here is a short video showing how to use Move Student:
Class Summaries, Class Lists and Class Registers.
These last 3 cards are fully filled once a Class has been placed in a classroom and given a teacher via Timetabling.
If we looked at them just after the Move Student video above, it would show the nationality and gender mix for each class ( Class Lists and Class Registers are empty at this stage):
After classes have been placed in rooms and assigned techers via Timetabling the following changes take place on the last three cards:
Class Summaries: gives you an overview of the make up of each class.
Class List: here you can print out daily schedules. This can be pinned to the wall so students know where they should be.
Class Registers: these can be printed out teacher by teacher or you can print out all registers for the coming week . Teachers can also see which students are under 18 or who have birthdays in that particular week.